ZIP codes to be introduced in four Mandalay townships

May 25, 2019

Naypyitaw (Myanmar) May 25: Mandalay city would soon introduce ZIP codes in four townships to increase the improve mail delivery, a senior Mandalay City Development Committee (MCDC) official said.
U Kyaw San Myint said the four townships include Chan Mya Tharsi, Chan Aye Tharzan, Mahar Aung Myay and Aung Myay Tharzan.
"After that, we will continue doing this in other cities in the region - Kyaukse, Singaing, and others," he said. "We'll give code numbers to roads that have the same names. We'll have to submit them within two weeks. We have already done a field study, so we can do it quickly."
He said that they are also discussing with local authors and university professors about naming wards and streets to honour prominent people.
The project started last July with a team studying the different methods used by several countries. A survey was also conducted of house numbering in the downtown area and new towns in the city.
Mandalay Mayor U Ye Lwin said the survey noted that people named streets as they wished, so there are many street names that are the same. "There are 15 Thazin streets and 20 Yadana streets downtown," he said.
"We've decided to make the ZIP code 8 digits. For example, the ZIP code 0501-1214 is internationally recognised, with 05 being Mandalay Region, and 01 being Aung Myay Tharzan township. We made it 2 digits because Mandalay has 28 townships. The number 12 represents the ward and 14 represents the plot," U Ye Lwin said on his social media page.
If the street names are confirmed, signs with the new and old names of the streets will be posted across the city, he said.
Source: Myanmar Times